Sat 12 March 2016, 7.30 pm, St George's Bristol

Stefan Hofkes  conductor  ·  You-Chiung Lin  piano  Biography

Debussy | Prélude à l'Après-Midi d'un Faune
Rachmaninov | Piano Concerto No 4
Rimsky-Korsakov | Scheherazade
Shostakovich | Jazz Suite: Waltz No 2 and Tea for Two

You-Chiung Lin

Prélude à l'Après-Midi d'un Faune, often thought to be the beginning of modern music, evokes a faun playing his pan-pipes alone in the woods, becoming aroused by passing nymphs and naiads and then succumbing to a deep, vision-filled sleep. • Taiwanese-born pianist You-Chiung Lin takes centre-stage tonight to delight us with Rachmaninov’s daringly chromatic and jazzy fourth piano concerto. • The symphonic poem Scheherazade is based on One Thousand and One Nights, a collection of Arabic tales, and combines two features typical of Russian music and of Rimsky-Korsakov in particular: dazzling, colourful orchestration and a strong interest in the East. • For a light and joyful ending to the evening, a pair of tune-laden snippets from Shostakovich’s inventive Jazz Suite are lined up. 

Tickets: £15 (£13), £13 (£11), £10 (£8), £8 (£6), £1 children

* A booking fee of just £1 per transaction applies when buying tickets from the
Bristol Concert Orchestra online ticket shop.  There are no further charges.

Other tickets are available from St George's Bristol: in person,
by phone 0845 40 24 001, or online

Tickets bought from St George's Bristol are subject to booking fees:
£1 administration fee charged per transaction, plus
£1 card transaction fee and 70p postage where applicable.

Retiring collection for the British Red Cross

Downloads available:

Concert flyer

Concert flyer - 597KB

Summer 2016 Concert   Future Concerts

Last updated: 18 January 2016